Do I need to hook up DVD digital AND analog audio?

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by John Walker, Jun 2, 2003.

  1. John Walker

    John Walker Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    The subject says it all.

    Do I need to hook up the analog also in order to play plain CD's or will they work as "2.0" via the digital coax?

    Thanks

    John
     
  2. Inspector Hammer!

    Inspector Hammer! Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 1999
    Messages:
    11,061
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Real Name:
    John Williamson
    John,

    the digital connection will deliver everything from both dvd's and cd's, no need to connect analog.
     
  3. Rick_Brown

    Rick_Brown Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    However...if you do connect up the analog cables you then have an opportunity to compare the sound of your DVD-players DAC's vs. your receiver's DAC's. Some people find that one or the other sounds better.
     
  4. MarcWi

    MarcWi Agent

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a related question. I just hooked up mynew system adn I have 2 dvd players. One is hooked up digital coax and the other via digital optical. The coax connection is playing cds fine but not the optical. Can anyone think of why?
     
  5. Woo Jae

    Woo Jae Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe your receiver only allows one type of input per optical/digital cable?

    I know it sounds silly, but I have an older Yahama integrated receiver RV420 (silly impulse purchase [​IMG] !) that will not let you set up more than one type of input to a connection. So say you have two dvd players. You would need to designate one as DVD with Coaxial and another as either CD or D-Cable or some other thing to get it to work...

    Hope it helps...

    Also note that on that Yamaha receiver I can only have the player accept PCM signals only, so anything that isn't encoded as such will not go through. Go through the options on the DVD players and make sure that your receiver can handle the signal from the input...
     
  6. MarcWi

    MarcWi Agent

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    WEll--the dvd audio works fine so I dont think tats the issue-its just cd audio that was problematic....
     
  7. Cees Alons

    Cees Alons Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 1997
    Messages:
    19,345
    Likes Received:
    291
    Real Name:
    Cees Alons
    Marc,

    Did you look at the settings of that player? Often the optical connection has to be switched on specifically.
    If you have the manual, consult it to find that out (or else, just go to the setup and see what's there).

    Cees
     
  8. MarcWi

    MarcWi Agent

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    well I don't think that would be the case as if I play a DVD Im getting the sound through the optical connection....
     
  9. JamesHl

    JamesHl Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you have upsampling enabled, is that pass through or does that only work over the analog? if it's pass through, your receiver might not be able to decode it. I don't know if this is how it works though.
     
  10. MarcWi

    MarcWi Agent

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry you lost me---upsampling?
     
  11. Rick_Brown

    Rick_Brown Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is this what we call "highjacking a thread?"
     
  12. JamesHl

    JamesHl Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Upsampling PCM to 24/96? I feel kind of stupid for mentioning this as I don't know a lot about it; however, it might have something to do with your problem. You might want to dig around in your dvd player settings to make sure it's not on, or something.
     
  13. John Walker

    John Walker Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone tell me where I can get a tie-rod end for a 32 ford?
     
  14. MarcWi

    MarcWi Agent

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Point taken---I apologize!!!!
     
  15. Dave Hahn

    Dave Hahn Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 1999
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Dave Hahn
    I don't know if it matters anymore, or it may just be specific to brand or model. I have an older Denon receiver and must use the analog connection if I want to use some of the DSP modes such as "Mono Movie."

    Hope that helps. Oh, by the way, try Hemmings for the tie-rod! [​IMG]
     
  16. John Walker

    John Walker Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's exactly what I was referring to. I haven't got all the cables yet so it isn't set up.

    Am I going to find I need the analog connection for CD or MP3?

    Thanks

    John
     
  17. Dave Hahn

    Dave Hahn Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 1999
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Dave Hahn
    To answer your original question.
     

Share This Page