Do I have an inferior multiswitch?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by JohnMW, Dec 25, 2001.

  1. JohnMW

    JohnMW Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just had DirecTV installed and went with the oval dish w/ dual LNB's to get HDTV signals (101,119). I have the Hughes E86 receiver. When the installer got it hooked up, we could not get HD and standard programming at the same time. After and hour of troubleshooting he changed out the multiswitch on the dish. The one he put on was not identical, but is a 4 way w/ a rating of 50 - 1450MHz. I see 50 - 2200MHz multiswitches all over the net. Did he give me a crappy one?

    I have a Hitachi 53UWX10B and some of the DirecTV stations look like hell. Is this typical on a 16:9 HDRPTV?
     
  2. carl-s

    carl-s Extra

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2000
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    John,

    Could be a bad multi switch. The more splits you have in a multi swith the more loss you get. If I were you, I would run a direct line from the LNBF to the receiver to see weather or not it make a difference.

    Carl
     
  3. David Ely

    David Ely Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 1998
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    0
    John,

    What channels in particular look bad to you? You will have to keep in mind that EVERY channel will suffer from compression artifacts. That's just something you need to live with right now. The larger your screen is, the more you'll notice it. The 'locals' have the worst compression of all the channels. Even some of the stations in the 500s get pretty bad.

    As far as signal loss goes, check the signal strength meter in your receiver's menu. If you have a signal over 60, you're fine. A signal stregth of 60 is the minimum required to get the full information to your receiver. Any more than 60 is just headroom for a cloudy day.
     
  4. Charles L.

    Charles L. Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont know very much about the new direct tv setups, but I do know a little about dishnetwork. As far as a splitter goes 1450 Mhz. is the required min. A multi switch though it looks like a splitter is not. it is a two way switch that passes DC current through to the lnb to SWITCH sats. Dishnetwork puts their regular progarmming on the 110 and 119 sat. locations. The hi def (mirrored) programming comes primarliy from 61.5 my point being that I can get HBO from the 110, 119 sats, but if I want HBO in hi-def then I need to be looking at the 61.5
     
  5. JohnMW

    JohnMW Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was mainly concerned about my current multiswitch MHz rating. Is 50 - 1450MHz acceptable or should I have something over 2GHz?

    I get 75~90's on source 101, and 70-80's on source 119.
     
  6. David Ely

    David Ely Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 1998
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    0
    It sounds like your properly setup.

    Just keep your fingers crossed that there will be less compression in the signal now that they have their new satelite up in the sky.
     

Share This Page