Do I have an illegal version of Windows XP

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jonathan Lofgren, Jul 9, 2002.

1. Jonathan Lofgren

Jonathan Lofgren Stunt Coordinator

Hi,
    I'm new to computer building, but decided to try building a computer. I purchased a copy of XP, but it's an OEM copy. I didn't realize what this was at the time, but now understand why I had to purchase hardware with the copy. It has the cd and an identification number, but that's all. I'm building the computer and the operating system is for a new computer, but I'm not a computer manufacturer or anything. Is this legal, ethical, etc?

2. Paul_Fisher

Paul_Fisher Screenwriter

I would think your fine. Just make sure you save the receipt from where ever you bought if from if you need some sort of proof.

3. Leila Dougan

Leila Dougan Screenwriter

You purchased a non-pirated copy of Windows. The problem is that although its an original disk, MS made it for OEMs and you're not an OEM. There is a clause somewhere (man I wish I could find it) that says purchasing an OEM copy when you are not an OEM is considered pirating in their eyes.

That's from the purely legal standpoint (and I don't know more than that cause I'm not a lawyer). But, the other side of the coin is that I know lots of people who have done exactly what you've done and suffered no harm.

I think the public views it as not being nearly as bad as completely pirating a disk, which I agree with. But MS seems to think differently.

4. Kevin P

Kevin P Screenwriter

I think you can buy an OEM copy provided you purchase it along with a computer, motherboard, or hard drive. Sounds like you meet those criteria, at least if you bought the XP along with your hardware.

KJP

5. Steve_Ch

Steve_Ch Supporting Actor