Do camcorder's have a/v input's ?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by rick stein, Aug 4, 2003.

  1. rick stein

    rick stein Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I guess the headline pretty much tell's the point of what i need to know. The particular brand's i am looking at are the panny pvdv202,the jvc grdvl720,and the jvc grdvl725. Just would like to know if these or any mini dv camcorder's have input's on them so i could record off of vcr. Please any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. DustinLC

    DustinLC Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh yeah, bunch of them.

    I don't know about the models you are speaking of but I have a JVC one but don't have the model number with me at the moment and it has one. It's label DV in/out so it's one port for in or out via digital transfer.

    Since if you're buying, I'm sure you'll be checking it out in person so just look for that.
     
  3. Philip Hamm

    Philip Hamm Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 1999
    Messages:
    6,873
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, there are, but I don't know any particular model numbers. I wish mine did. You can monitor thourh the A/V input and record analog direct to your PC through firewire this way.
     
  4. rick stein

    rick stein Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank's for the input guy's. I went to my local tweeter today and they told me that camcorder's don't come with input's then i went to best buy and asked one of the kid's[yes now you see how desperate i was]. And he looked at me like i had 2 head's but he thought they did. All i can say is guy's from tweeter you let me down shame shame shame.
     
  5. DustinLC

    DustinLC Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Rick,

    Most people don't use the input because they don't know what they would need that for.

    Here are some of the reasons:

    1.Transfer to computer, edit and export it back to the camcorder.

    2. Transfer from one camcorder to another.

    3. Transfer from tapes to camcorder because of editing features availability on the camcorder or to archive them in miniDV.
     

Share This Page