Do audio engineers/recorders/mixers hate bass guitarists? ;)

Discussion in 'Music' started by Carlo Medina, Aug 9, 2004.

1. Carlo Medina

Carlo Medina Executive Producer

Just was wondering: I have an upper-mid-fi system that is capable of reproducing the full range of music on a CD, DVD, DVD-A or SACD. I listen to a lot of rock, especially classic rock, grunge rock of the early 90s and some current rock.

I've also attended a lot of concerts featuring these artists/bands. At concerts, the bass (and drums) are very prominent. In addition, I'm a musician and have played in a band setting, where I really need (and want) to hear the bass and drums. The very few times I've played live, the bass is well represented.

But on CDs, most bass is relegated to an afterthought. It's not my equipment: well recorded CDs with ample bass come through loud and clear. But I'd say on 90%+ of rock CDs I own that should have good, clear, present bass, it is almost always lacking.

I know that singers have LSD (Lead Singer Disease) and guitarists are always trying to take over Eddie Van Halen's mantle, but damn, most rock needs the bass guitar as a foundation (and as I said, they do in their concert gigs) but that sound seems to rarely make it over to their official recordings...

What's up with that? Any thought from industry folk?

Thanks!

2. Brian L

Brian L Cinematographer

As a former bassist (Ric 4003, Peavy T-40) I too feel your pain, and don't know why its so.

I have so few rock CD's where the bass is to an appropriate level that it does make one wonder. It is truly a wonderful thing to go to a live show and feel the bass/kick drums thump your chest!

BGL

3. Jeff Ulmer

Jeff Ulmer Producer

In the LP days, there was a very good reason for limiting the amount of low end content, that being the physics of reproducing low frequencies through mechanical means. It is quite easy to send a stylus flying with too much bass content.