Do any of the 3rd party PS2 remotes have an ON/OFF function?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Mitty, Feb 28, 2002.

  1. Mitty

    Mitty Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 1999
    Messages:
    886
    Likes Received:
    5
    Just curious.

    That seems like a selling point. I know a couple of them have power on/off buttons but those may only be for other components.

    Thanks all.
     
  2. Joe michaels

    Joe michaels Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 1999
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, there is no PS2 remote even capable of doing that. And the XBOX doesn't have that either but it does have an idle shut off so you could set it for a really sjort time and just never turn the XBOX off manually.
     
  3. Ken Ingram

    Ken Ingram Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 1999
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    The PS2 has a standby mode: Just hold down the reset button on the front for a couple of seconds and the light will turn red and shut down and go into standby mode. and you wont have to reach behind the system and shut it off.
     
  4. Mitty

    Mitty Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 1999
    Messages:
    886
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks guys.

    So, to clarify, there's also no remote which is capable of putting the unit in standy mode, remotely?

    I think I already know the answer, but you know...
     
  5. Joseph Young

    Joseph Young Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mitty,
    This is a really valid issue... despite being able to manually put the PS2 into 'standby' (which I do daily), the remotes are unable to do this. In my opinion, this was a glaring oversight, and unless someone can chime in with a valid reason this was ommited, I stand by it. [​IMG]
    Joseph
     
  6. Camp

    Camp Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    2,301
    Likes Received:
    0
     

Share This Page