Do all dvd-r recordings have a kind of "stuttering" during playback?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by marcus_h, Apr 7, 2005.

1. marcus_h

marcus_h Agent

Hello,

I'm a newbie to dvd recording and I started out by buying a 200.00 pioneer recorder to basically replace a vcr. Well, the dvds had a ton of problems playing back in other dvd players. The recordings would kind of pause, almost like going into freeze frame, and then continue on. Its almost like the recordings have a stutter during playback. So, I returned the recorder and picked up the
    sony rdr-gx300 dvd recrder instead. The recordings I have made from this one have the same kind of "stuttering" problem but it isn't nearly as bad as with the pioneer. And at least the discs don't freeze up or come back with cannot play disc error messages as those recorded with the pioneer.

So...is it that all recordings from dvd players experience this, or is it the blank media that I'm using (which I find hard to believe). I've used memorex and and tdk dvd-r's.

2. John Whittle

John Whittle Stunt Coordinator

I've have very little luck with getting standard DVD players to accept recordings made on stand-alone recorders. You can visit videohelp.com and find out which players will play what kinds of discs, but it seems that your problem is one with your player(s).

The best solution I've found is to capture (record) on the stand-alone player and then import that into the computer and use an authoring program to make new chapters, edit, etc. (You an do that with Nerovision, Movie Factory, MyDVD and many others) and then burn back to a DVD-R 4X Ridata disc that I've found to be the most widely compatible.

Players a few years old will often have problems you describe since they have trouble reading the dye rather than the metal in a commercially pressed DVD. With the price of players today, you can easily find one that will work with your set-up.