DLP rainbows too much, traded for Sony 55"Grand WEGA™ 3LCD

Discussion in 'Displays' started by ToddTH, Jul 25, 2005.

1. ToddTH

ToddTH Auditioning

Hi all,

Does anyone have any experience or insight about these sets? Are they difficult to set up out of the box? Will I need calibration from a professional? I exchanged my Samsung DLP the rainbow effect was just to much for me, my wife never say it but I would see it way to much to be happy, and with football coming I couldn't handle it. I am new to all this so thank you for any insights at all.

Todd

2. MikeGee

MikeGee Second Unit

I've actually noticed that in a store i went to. I was watching the DLP screen for a college football game and i was explained by the guy who works there that the DLP has more of a rainbow effect than anything. I found it very annoying, i'm sure the tv was setup correctly considering it was a pretty high end system in one of those pricey home theatre stores.

3. ToddTH

ToddTH Auditioning

I agree the rainbow was really annoying. They said that not that many people notice it but the ones that do can get very distracted by it. Of course my wife didn't see it, which made the whole exchange thing a little harder to convince her of. Now I just hope I made the right choice. The Sony 55" Grand Wega widescreen looked good in the store, so hopefully it will do the same in my living room.

4. Mary M S

Mary M S Screenwriter

I have a 60"¨ GW II generation model RP LCD.

Some quick tips if this is your first 16:9
    Yes calabration does improve your PQ, but many do not hire it done; if not wishing to spring for a professional visit at min. be sure to calabrate yourself.