DIY switching solution?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Jonathan T, Jul 1, 2003.

  1. Jonathan T

    Jonathan T Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone know of plans for a DIY switching seperate? I don't need to worry about digital signals or anything better than composite video and analog 2 channel audio. But I need at least 5 inputs. Anyone?
     
  2. Michael R Price

    Michael R Price Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    1,591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you mean a preamp? If you build a preamp you'll probably do so with a selector switch of some sort, but you could also just put a switch and a volume control in a box if you don't need a preamp. I think you can use a standard heavy duty rotary (or other) selector switch, or use small switches controlling relays at the output.
     
  3. Jonathan T

    Jonathan T Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't need any volume control, it's only for video games. I'd have to relay 1 video and 2 audio signals. Should be easy.
     
  4. Michael R Price

    Michael R Price Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    1,591
    Likes Received:
    0
    I sense a "ghetto" switch-and-wires-hanging-in-free-air sort of thing coming along. Well, that's what I would do. Oh wait, I already did it. [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Jonathan T

    Jonathan T Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] That's what I'm talkin about. But I need 5 inputs. I can probably just make a 5 input one from your picture.

    Edit: or maybe not. I can't really see what wires go where. You got a schematic?
     
  6. Michael R Price

    Michael R Price Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    1,591
    Likes Received:
    0
    This one is complicated because I used two 2-position Radio Shack switches to switch between 3 sources (computer, CDP and radio). If I were you I'd find a nice 6-position rotary switch like Digikey part CKC7004-ND... you'd need a pair of that kind of switch or you could use a more expensive 2-deck model to do both channels at once. Wire the signal lines from the sources to the different positions on the switch and wire the output line to the switch's "pole." You can connect all the signal grounds together, at least that's what I did.
     
  7. Mark Hedges

    Mark Hedges Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought a 5 input a/v switcher at EB for $20. Switches composite and S video, and even will convert to RF if you want it too. It included some cheap cables and the transformer to power the RF converter.

    Not that I have anything against DIY but I think $20 is a pretty fair price for what I got.

    Mark
     
  8. Jonathan T

    Jonathan T Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mark, that sounds good. Thanks.
     

Share This Page