diy subwoofer.

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by jasonBR, Aug 6, 2005.

1. jasonBR

jasonBR Auditioning

hi i am new to this whole diy speaker thing. i have an idea for what i want to do and was wondering if anybody here had any opinions.

i currently just have a e250p jbl and just want more quality bass and more low end extension.

not sure if i want to go sealed or ported, i would probably do ported if i new anything about how to tune and what to tune to.

what i want to use is the 500 watt amp from oaudio.com and the sx12 sub from resonant engineering. (reaudio.com).

i am pretty sure i want it to be downfiring instead of front. i think i want it to be sealed but not sure on that part yet. i want it to play really low but also sound good for music. any advice would be greatly appreciated. thanks, jason

2. Ryan Schnacke

Ryan Schnacke Supporting Actor

What in particular makes you want to use the sx12 woofer? With a Vas of only 47.6L I would think these are designed for very small boxes. This makes it difficult to design a ported box with adequate vent area and still yield a low tuning frequency. You're stuck with either a slot port wrapped around multiple sides of the box or a "periscope" port that hangs out of the box. Passive radiators might be an option.

Is it just me or is the Xmax and price not listed for this woofer?

But anyway, the TC2+ woofers on that oaudio.com site look pretty decent for a vented sub. Not that I actually simulated them, they just look like more reasonable specs for home audio. Plus they appear to give an 8% discount if you buy woofer + amp.

3. ThomasW

ThomasW Cinematographer

The 12" TC2+ has the lowest distortion of any 12" driver we've tested.

Hint, I can't wait for the new 15" model from Todd... [​IMG]

4. jasonBR

jasonBR Auditioning