What's new

DIY Speaker Designs (1 Viewer)

Jim_Hunt

Grip
I am looking to build speakers for a new 7.1 system I am assembling. I worked professional as a furniture and casework maker for more than 15 years and have a shop full of professional tools. (Any design isn’t too complicated to build for me.) I also have always been doing something with electronics (ham & shortwave radio, car stereo, professional sound reinforcement, and home theater.) I currently work as a network and systems engineer. My dad also was big in electronics and we built many Heathkit things over the years including speakers.

OK, back on topic…

I know that speaker design is very complex and I am not looking to reinvent the wheel. I just need a good set of solid designs that I can build and enjoy. The room is 14 ½’ X 27’. I plan on getting a nice receiver that will be capable of 110 to 135 watts per 7 channels. I don’t know about the sub power yet.

Also, I might be willing to work with someone wanting to have me build a second set for them to help off-set my costs. (I would be starting sometime in September all pending on the sale of my current home and having the cash to get the new gear.)

Bobby T

Supporting Actor
Vance Dickason's loudspeaker design cookbook is a good place to start. Also the DIY area of the forum is a better place to ask this quistion.

Dustin B

Senior HTF Member
Well Adire Audio offers a bunch of different kits, as does GR-Research. The plan for Joe D'Appolito's Audax hometheater are freely available. Parts Express has a bunch of project plans posted.
This site lists a whole pile of kits:
http://www.snippets.org/ldsg/sect-16.php3
Beside the Next and Previous buttons are a bunch of links that load the various tables that list all the kits.
I stumbled across this design today that looks pretty cool:
http://www.speakerbuilding.com/content/1105/
Also Danny of GR-Research posted this in another thread in the DIY Advanced section: