Diy Screen

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Jeff Welborn, Jan 14, 2004.

1. Jeff Welborn

Jeff Welborn Auditioning

I apologize if I'm putting this in the wrong forum.

Here's my question, I've read numerous other posts on DIY screens, it sounds like there are at least a dozen adequate ways to make one. I am a graphic artist at a sign shop and can get a 4'x8' sheet of a plastic material called styrene. It is lightweight and completely smooth with very little gloss. I was wondering if anyone else had tried this material, and if so, how were the results.

2. Ian-Fl

Ian-Fl Second Unit

3. Jeff Welborn

Jeff Welborn Auditioning

Not quite. The GatorBoard I've dealt with is a stiff board-like material. Styrene is thinner and a plastic-type material. It can be rolled where GatorBoard cannot. However the finishes on them are almost identical in terms of smoothness and sheen.

So if GatorBoard works for a DIY screen, I'll bet styrene works just as well.

Also, styrene is very tough, you'll be hard pressed to push a dent in the stuff. But GatoBoard can get dents in it.

4. Ian-Fl

Ian-Fl Second Unit

I think the best solution for a DIY screen is to use something that is off white towards the grey colour. That way you'll get blacks from a projector, to look less grey. I've also used FL-day filters by Hoya to sharpen up the contrast levels as well. The downside to a camera filter is that you loose one F-stop, so the overall picture is darker.

5. Jeff Welborn

Jeff Welborn Auditioning

What's that paint color that is used alot on painting screens grey? Evening Mist?

6. Ian-Fl

Ian-Fl Second Unit

7. Neil Joseph

Neil Joseph Lead Actor

Neil Joseph
    I had looked at the Gatorboard but it wa too expensive, especially shipped internationally. I went with the formica. Are you going to paint over the styrene or is it available in various colours?

8. Mike LS

Mike LS Supporting Actor