What's new

DIY Cables Vs. Monster Cables (1 Viewer)

Jeff_H

Auditioning
Hey guys, Im kinda a newbie here, but I have found alot of good info here...I was hoping that some of you can help me with a question.

Currently I have Monster Cables running thruout my system. I would like to replace them with some hand made cables so I could get the cables the correct length. I am going with Canare for the cables...I was just wondering if I will see any signal loss form switching to the monster cables?

peter_anderson

Stunt Coordinator
loss??? if you make the cables right, you will have cables which are probably _twice_ as good as your current cables.

Elbert Lee

Supporting Actor
Very bold and general statement, Peter, but I do agree to a limited extent. However, interconnects my be difficult unless you have the right soldering equipment. I certainly believe that DIY speaker cables, using large gauge wires, will yield generally favorable results.

However, it will be very difficult to make a cable that will significantly outperform some of there better product lines.

Elbert

rodneyH

Supporting Actor
Peter, I don't know if your aware, but Monster makes some decent stuff (not just the $39 cable you see at CC), infact anything over the M950 is really good and the M550 is a very good cable for the $$ (unless you are a DIYer). I am not saying that you can't build better cable for less, but the 2x as good is a little bit of a stretch considering you don't know what specific cables he is running.

I was given (6) M1000 interconnects that are 2m in length, my next project is to cut them in 1/2 and get 12 cables out of it (I did the same thing with an audioquest interconnect that I was given that was 2m, and it worked great). Normally I would never run that expensive of cable ($200 per cable), but it was a gift, so I couldn't argue, certainly for the $$ or less you could build something as good or less, but 2X is a stretch.

good luck on the project, just take your time.