DIY as a business?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Tim Brewers, Nov 23, 2002.

1. Tim Brewers

Tim Brewers Agent

Hey people, I have been looking for a business I can do part time to make some extra cash. anyway, since I am a carpenter by trade, I have been considering making custom speakers for people. I am thinking to build the speakers and then offer any finish the customer wants. Is there anyone here doing it? any tips, or anything like that? thanks,

Brew

2. ThurmanG

ThurmanG Auditioning

To get some idea of the competition, you might want to look at what Kyle Ricardson offers at Acoustic Visions.

3. Chris Carswell

Chris Carswell Supporting Actor

4. Tim Brewers

Tim Brewers Agent

Thanks, I will check them out.

Brew

5. Dave Poehlman

Dave Poehlman Producer

Not to be too nosy, but what sort of business are Kyle and Brian turning? How many orders are they getting per month/year? Just curious.. I was kicking around the idea of doing some contracted DIY stuff for friends and am curious how big of a plunge it is to do internet based services.

6. Brian Bunge

Brian Bunge Producer

Dave,

I'm not making much right now, but this is a full time business for me now so I can get most things turned around in a week. I do have 5 or 6 potential customers just waiting in the wings right now. Some are interested in whole 5.1 speaker systems, some just subs. I'm also going to be focusing on HT installs so I don't plan on doing internet only business. People don't seem to understand the value of custom cabinetry so it's hard to make much money off of selling cabinets for kit speakers. It's very hard when someone that builds cabinets on the side doesn't value their time very much and will build things for others for next to nothing. But as some have found out, going with the cheapest price doesn't always get you a quality product.