DIY Amp Trigger?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Guyza, Dec 1, 2003.

  1. Guyza

    Guyza Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone heard of a DIY amp trigger for an older amp that has no 12V trigger. My pre-pro has a 12V trigger output, but the amp does not.

    I'm thinking some sort of FET circuit spliced into the power cord.

    I'm not quite up to the point of diminishing returns whereby my power cord is the weakest link in my sound chain, so I don't mind fiddling with it.

    Tried doing a search but came up empty.

    Thanks for any help or ideas.
    Guy
     
  2. JohnSer

    JohnSer Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have seen posts on creating a trigger using wallwart and switched outlet, but not on the amp end. No EE, but would expect you need a relay over the FET. One with a 12V energizer coil, probably needs low current draw, that has a Normaly Open AC contacts that can handle your max poweramp draw. There is probably a quick and dirty RC network that can be employed on the 12V side, to delay amp turn-on. I guess I am saying it can be done, but you will need a little more help from someone with a little more EE background, then myself. [​IMG]

    JohnS
     
  3. David_Rivshin

    David_Rivshin Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have heard of some power strips which have a 12V trigger input which can be used for switching the outlets on/off.
    I believe Panamax has some units like that. Would probably be the simplest solution overall, and you get the bonus of a nice surge suppressor ontop of it.

    -- Dave
     
  4. NickSP

    NickSP Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did what david talks about. I purchased a Niles Power Conditioner which has 2 12V trigger inputs which powers on/off devices connected to it. Works great!
     
  5. Dave Milne

    Dave Milne Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guy,
    If you want to go the DIY route, you'll either need a relay or a Triac --or some pre-packaged solid-state power contactor (SSPC). FET or bipolar transistors won't do it (unless you're into creating a very complex circuit!). The gate trigger on a triac does require a little circuitry, so I'd opt for the relay. Check Newark, Digi-key, Parts Express, etc. The Omron "G5Q series" relay, for example, switches 10A, only requires 33mA of coil current, and costs about $2.50.


    Good luck.
     
  6. Guyza

    Guyza Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks,

    The switched power outlet is more to my liking. I'm not dead set on DIY, I just didn't know switched power conditioners existed!

    Damn....the more I know, the more I realize how much I don't know.

    Off to shop for these things.
    thanks again,
    guy
     

Share This Page