Divx ?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by heather p, Dec 3, 2001.

1. heather p

heather p Auditioning

I've seen some DivX players and discs for sale - wondering if they would still work? Does anyone know what happened to the capability after Circuit City stopped selling the models?

Does anyone know where I can get a "registered" working Divx player? I am new to the technology - PULLEAZE help

thanks.

2. Michael Reuben

Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

DIVX is deceased, and no one is mourning it. If you have a DIVX player, I presume it will still play DVDs. But as far as DIVX discs are concerned, I'm pretty sure you're out of luck.

M.

3. Dennis Nicholls

Dennis Nicholls Lead Actor

Dennis
    Heather,
    Try the Divx owner's assoc. site www.the-doa.com . They specialize in trying to make such machines work. Divx died about 2 years ago and the company stopped supporting playback mode last summer. I'm guessing that you probably can't start from scratch at this late a date. On the other hand people around here had nice things to say about the Proscan Divx player as a DVD player, although as time progresses the new DVD players keep getting better. Oh yeah and welcome to HTF. We can talk your ear off about such things......

4. Robert Floto

Robert Floto Supporting Actor

Heather,
    I noticed that you called it DivX...
    There are actually two products titled divx (one is Divx the other is DivX).
    The first Divx was the store-bought disc with a movie on it (these ones are in a professional CD case with the DIVX logo on them), and the way they work is that you purchase one of these discs, and you can play it anytime you want, as many times as you want, within a 24 hour period. After that, whenever you want to view it again, you will be charged a little over $3.00 for another 24 hour viewing period. The way this was accomplished was with a DVD player with a modem attached for billing...