DISH Network Offers VS DIRECTV

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by CarlosGH, Oct 11, 2004.

  1. CarlosGH

    CarlosGH Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am moving into an area outside the city that has no cable. I was looking into getting DirecTV, because of all the great word of mouth, but I was looking at DISH because they "seem" to give you a free DVR and HD reciever instantly. I could be wrong about the free part, but is DISH really that bad? I live on the Texas-New Mexico border, is there any problem with the signal from here?

    I want the HD reciever for future purposes (don't have HDTV yet) and don't want to pay $300+ for one at Best Buy to use with DirecTV. I have relatives and friends that work for Circuit City and Best Buy. Do they get any discounts from DirecTV?
     
  2. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    Then don't get an HD receiver now. The prices keep inching down. DirecTV was running a promotion for current subscribers offering the HD receiver for $99.

    My suggestion is to go with DirecTV with their DVR. Worry about upgrading to HD when you get the proper display.

    -Robert
     
  3. CarlosGH

    CarlosGH Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    So far DirecTV seems like the best, but they don't offer the WB as a network station or local channel. We get our via cable from L.A. I called and asked them if it were possible to add it to the line up. The CS recommended me to get the NY local channels for $3 extra, but I asked him it I would get them correctly. He wasn't too sure so I am asking anyone who gets dual local channels: your local channels and NY(or any other city's) local channels if they are any problems. I'll probably check out a little more before choosing either one.

    But so far, DISH looks better: Free HD box, DVR, and the WB/UPN for only $5 extra. One last question, does the DISH HD tuner come with an OTA tuner?
     
  4. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    You get what you pay for.

    -Robert
     
  5. JeremySt

    JeremySt Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    14
    Real Name:
    Jeremy
    I have a Dish 811 reciever. A little buggy out of the box, but now its perfect. I also have a 501 DVR. No problems. I am a 7 year customer of Dish. My dad recently switched from Directv to Dish. Both systems beat the hell out of cable. I work for a B&M Hi Fi Fi shop, and have experience with both systems. I prefer Dish. Ive had too many Directv systems with issues. Either operationally, or they just fail.
     
  6. CarlosGH

    CarlosGH Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    The whole situation with adding the WB to the Total Choice package from DirecTV is as follows:

    Total Choice Package for El Paso includes local networks: NBC, CBS, FOX

    But no WB. The WB I see on cable is from L.A.

    The CS from DirecTV said that I could add on the local channels from New York and recieve the WB. Anyone have this package?
     
  7. CarlosGH

    CarlosGH Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I were to recieve the HD reciever 811, would I get to keep it after a year?

    If I do keep it, does it work as a standalone OTA tuner, or do you have to subscribe to DISH for the reciever to work?
     
  8. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    No subscription required but it does need a signal from the dish to operate.

    -Robert
     
  9. Adam_R

    Adam_R Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    0
    The DISH deal isn't as much of a deal as i looks like. The equipment is leased, not owned so you don't get anything for free.

    That's why you pay $299 for HD over at Direct TV. You own the equipment with them.
     
  10. CarlosGH

    CarlosGH Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, unfortunely Directv is out for me if I can't get the NY or LA version of the WB. I thought it was a cable network.

    If I did buy the 811 from DISH, I still have to leave it hooked up to the dish and the antennea for it to give me the OTA stations for free? Is this the same with Directv.
     
  11. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    All DirecTV HD receivers (with the exception of the HD DirecTivo) will work as OTA receivers without a subscription or being connected to a dish.

    -Robert
     
  12. JeremySt

    JeremySt Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    14
    Real Name:
    Jeremy


    Im in Montana, and its available here. I had it, and only recently I turned it off. I had to re-budget the extra $$ to pay for my new HD channels.
     
  13. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    My WB from NY comment was for DirecTV only.

    -Robert
     
  14. CarlosGH

    CarlosGH Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    So JeremyST, you had WB from NY with DISH? Any problems trying to recieve the locals from NY?

    I can't decide now! The main question is with the purchase of equipment. I really can't spend $300 buck on an HD reciever yet, but would like the option to have one. Another question for JeremyST, did you buy yours when you signed up? Did you originally have the HD reciever or did you just upgrade.

    I went to my local Sears and saw that they sold the HD reciever for $300. Though the salesman knew absolutely nothing. He said that you could recieve OTA broadcasts using the Dish as an antennea. Is this the stupidest thing I've heard or I am niave?

    Well I have about a month or two to dwell in it before I move and lose cable.
     
  15. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    He's not very informed. I had the same problem when I got my HDTV two years ago. I was checking out Hitachis at Circuit City. I explained that I was looking for an HD ready model only and I would get my locals OTA through my DirecTV HD receiver. The salesman said that was impossible. I even showed him a HD receiver box on display that stated the same thing. I just couldn't convince him. I went down the street and bought a Mitsubishi from a local dealer.

    As I stated earlier, if you live in a city that already has a network station, neither Dish nor DirecTV is able to legally turn on the NY network feeds for you. You can petition your station for a waiver but most are denied.

    -Robert
     
  16. JeremySt

    JeremySt Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    14
    Real Name:
    Jeremy
    Carlos

    You can recieve local networks from NY (and several other large cities) but you have to get a waiver from your own local network first.

    Example, because there is a local CBS available here in my montana town, I had to get a waiver from them before I couild recieve CBS over my dish. Once I got the waiver, I can now recieve any CBS feed offered through dish. I get CBS L.A. NBC and ABC are almost impossible to get waivers.

    There is no local Fox here, so I automatically can choose any Fox. I get both N.Y. and Chicago.

    I now get all my Oakland Raiders, Chicago Bears, and NY Giants games.

    Cetain areas ( I know Orlando for sure, b/c a friend did it) can recieve all his local networks over the dish feed, plugged right into his regular channel line up. this is the "spot beam" process.

    I am a 7 year customer of dish network. THats why my price on the 811 was $150. Otherwise I think its $300 to new customers who wish to purchase it. You can recieve OTA HD with the 811, there is onboard analog and Digital tuner. the dish is not the antenna. There is a local antenna jack on the back of the unit. You can put the antenna on your dish, or just right there by your equipment, as I have done. My antenna is on the floor behind my TV. I get 2 local HD channels (PBS and CBS) and 4 analog channels (CBS, PBS, NBC, and ABC)
    Theyre all listed right with my regular channels
     
  17. EricRWem

    EricRWem Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Adrik
    Let me establish something for myself.

    My cable company just screwed me over for the last time this past weekend. That's a long story, but suffice it to say, I really want to get DTV ASAP.

    What's the best dish that they offer so I can defeat most geography and weather obstacles?
     
  18. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    The best dish you can get would be the Gainmaster but the cheapest configuration is $180. The standard dishes that come with the free install are good for 99% of the time. The 10 minutes of rain fade I have per year aren't worth the extra expense to me.

    -Robert
     
  19. EricRWem

    EricRWem Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Adrik
    I have high trees and snow I have to deal with, too. How do you protect these dishes from snow and such?

    And would you recommend going through a local retailer for DTV or just call them directly and do it? If I wanted them to install this Gainmaster, do I have to buy it seperately and they'll install it or what?

    Does that Gainmaster work for HD and everything?
    Please baby walk me through this. [​IMG]
     
  20. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    I'll be happy to take you through this if you don't call me baby again.

    -Robert
     

Share This Page