Dish 6000 & OTA HDTV

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Greg Foan, Aug 29, 2001.

  1. Greg Foan

    Greg Foan Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2001
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello All,
    I understand that you can receive OTA HDTV through the dish network 6000 series receiver once the appropriate OTA module has been installed. My question is this.....does it require special software/programming to do so?
    I'm thinking of purchasing a Bell Expressvu 6000 receiver here in Canada which , as I understand it, is the same equipment the dish network uses. I can't seem to find anyone at Expressvu that understands what I'm talking about....the customer service people keep talking about their 2 1/2 channels of HDTV which they tell me I'll receive with the 6000 (duh....ya think?). Apparently this OTA module is unfamiliar to the people I've been talking with.
    Any help offed will be appreciated. We live close to the border and will get 4 HDTV channels in 03/02 or so they say.....
     
  2. Mike I

    Mike I Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The software programming for the ota module was part of a software version upgrade down loaded last December..
    ------------------
     
  3. GeoffW

    GeoffW Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The BEV 6000 is not the same as the Dish 6000.You cannot recieve OTA from the BEV 6000, yet.
     

Share This Page