What's new

Discovered Netflix - I think I'm pretty much done buying DVDs (1 Viewer)

Jon_Are

Senior HTF Member
...and I surprised myself as to how comfortable I am with this decision.

Netflix is working flawlessly (so far), and it prompts me to watch movies sooner rather than later. Because I rarely re-visit a DVD, it's crystal clear to me how pointless it is for me to be spending so many dollars on so many purchases.

Yeah, there will be the occasional exception, such as the odd film I must own (Goodfellas, Star Wars) or television series (Curb Your Enthusiasm, All in the Family, M*A*S*H), but on the whole, I've gotten over my compulsion to own. Cripes, I even passed up purchasing Kill Bill Vol. 2.

Anyone else have similar thoughts?

Jon

JasonF

Agent
I use Walmart.com and feel the same way you do. I've been using them for about three months now and am very happy with them. Wal-mart is a little cheaper too.

Scott Tucker

Stunt Coordinator
I agree. I'm so over buying dvd's that i went to buy Kill Bill 2 and when i got to the store i decided not to buy it. My wife couldn't believe i could resist. I too use Netflix and have had good luck, but i may start using Blockbusters new service for less $$$. I'm saving a fortune not buying em anymore.
Scott

Garrett Lundy

Senior HTF Member
Blockbuster moviepass for me. Of course I'll buy some essential films , and HT demo material that never gets old (LOTR, Matrix Trilogy, Dracula, Tales From The Darkside).

I've even been trading-in my DVD's at the local FYE for store credit towards some new CD's (Just got around to audiophilism). I don't want to be caught with a stash of 400 worthless disks when HD-DVD comes out. I'm down to 200 now and could lose another 50 or so without suffering too much from movie withdrawl.

Scott L

Senior HTF Member
Yea I've always wondered about people saying they have hundred of DVDs. That's nice but you can have access to over 25,000 for MUCH less.