What's new

disappointed with Loudspeaker Cookbook... (1 Viewer)

Anthony*B

Stunt Coordinator
I am new to DIY, so I ordered the Loudspeaker Cookbook on the many glowing recommendations I've seen for it, but one or two paragraphs in, I realized I was hopelessly lost/out of my league...it may as well have been written in Latin for all I could understand...my
question to you all is this: how do you learn all this stuff short of taking several advanced college courses or spending hours every night in the library? It's a very daunting prospect! I sadly don't have the time or $ for either of those options, so the only options I have seem to be:
1. get a MUCH better paying job so I can simply BUY the speakers I want (sadly unlikely at this point)
2. rely on speaker designs already created by others (probably the most feasible option, though not much fun & not really helping me LEARN about speakers)
3. be happy with the low-fi setup I have now & try to learn what I can over many years & hope I can build then (again not fun at all)

As you can see, this is a problem for me! I am apparently VERY non-scientific-minded, & I suspect that is going to keep me from really learning what I want to learn...(on a happier note, I love woodworking, so building the cabinets & such should be great fun/very rewarding...I liken it to a guy who loves to paint cars but hasn't the foggiest idea of how to work on the engine...that's me in a nutshell)

any opinions/help will be happily received!

Patrick Sun

Senior HTF Member
Option #2 is probably the most feasible choice for you at this point in your life.

Designing speakers does require some grasp of how drivers, crossover network, and enclosure all have to be integrated to produce a nice sounding speaker.