Disadvantages of Electrostatic Speakers

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Allen Marshall, Mar 28, 2004.

1. Allen Marshall

Allen Marshall Supporting Actor

I was auditioning some fronts today, Martin Logan Aeons, Clarity, Mosiac and Montage. Also Sapphires, and Vienna Acoustics Beethovens.

I wasnt impressed by the Sapphires until if ound out there price, but even before then i new instantly they sounded so much better then my fronts. So anywho i was "AB" testing the Beethovens and the Martin Logan Aeons. Im not very good at comparing the sound of speakers, specially when i have to put it into words. All i could gather at the time was the Aeons sounded better in the highs and the Beethovens were rougher, they had a quality i really liked but so did Martin Logan, like the color red and blue, i like em both. Then i got my barings straight and went ok "I'd rather have Beethovens for music, and Martin Logan for movies". There were minor Imperfections i detected, that are in my speakers and most speakers i've heard under $1,000 a pair and i thought the higher end speakers were free of that.

Im talking about the letter S. Snake, Special, Super that rolling split second ssss in in movies always has a sort hiss to it that you dont hear when people talk in real life. Am i crazy or does anybody else know what im talking about cause sometimes in bothers the hell out of me, It's 50 times worse on tv or Tapes. If im the only one can some watch a movie and listen to people saying words with Ss in them and tell me if it sounds like that.

Anyway, im not saying the speakers i listened to did it specifically, just wondering if speakers are incapable of reproducing that right.