Disabling SVM on non-elite Pioneers

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by PhilipW, Sep 25, 2001.

  1. PhilipW

    PhilipW Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've gone into the service mode and turned the sharpness down to -128 and still have some of the white outlines on the Avia test pattern. I've been "inside" the unit before so that's not a problem. I'm just not sure where to disable it.
    Any help would be appreciated.
    ------------------
     
  2. Michael TLV

    Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Real Name:
    Michael Chen
    Greetings
    SVM is in the service menu. Item 7 I believe. Take that down to -128 as well.
    Additional ringing could be edge enhancement ... separate from SVM.
    Regards
    ------------------
    [​IMG]
    Michael @ The Laser Video Experience
     
  3. MarcS

    MarcS Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Check page 215 of the service manual (at least that's the page number on the PDF file I've got)--that's where item 7 can be found.
    I haven't tried that--but would be most interested in your results...
    Also, what about the "detail" setting, would that have some effect similar to sharpness?
     
  4. PhilipW

    PhilipW Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks guys,
    I've got the service manual so I'll check it out.
    Marc, I'll post my findings to this topic.
    ------------------
     
  5. MarcS

    MarcS Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    C'mon Philip, I'm waiting for you to play with your set before I mess with mine.... [​IMG]
    The other possible solution I've read about is unplugging the connector for the SVM unit--that is, unplug the little connector from the circuit board.
    I've also read that it's preferable to physically remove the SVM unit from the yoke...and leave it connected to the circuit board?
     
  6. PhilipW

    PhilipW Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Marc,
    It seems to have helped alot on the Sharpness setting using Avia. It still has a little bit of outline, however, I'm using an old non progressive DVD player. I am noticing an improvement on NTSC viewing especially on the scrolling text on MSNBC, CNN etc. No more white halos around the yellow text.
    I read that about trying to unplug it on the yokes and had no luck.
    Thanks Michael and Marc
    ------------------
     
  7. MarcS

    MarcS Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good news!
    So you set SVM to -128... Is there only one place to change it? I recall several tables that each had "item 7" where you could change SVM...
    Thanks...
    Now I can have some fun tonight!!! [​IMG]
     
  8. PhilipW

    PhilipW Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I went ahead and changed it on all 3. I believe the difference is what type of input is being fed. 15k, 31k, or 33k. My owners manual explains the differences. I think the 15k is for 480i, the 31k for 480p, and the 33k is for 1080i or something along those lines.
    To test it out I watched Forrest Gump, and after everyone had said it had so much EE, I thought it was hardly noticeable.
    Maybe you should watch a DVD that is supposed to have a bunch of EE and then shut down the SVM and rewatch it to do a comparison.
    Good Luck
    ------------------
     
  9. MarcS

    MarcS Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I messed with it last night, and made changes in those 3 input modes.
    I'm not sure if it made much difference changing SVM to -128. I looked at Avia and still saw ghosting to the right of the vertical lines...
    However, I did notice quite a bit of picture softening when I changed the sharpness to -50...so I set it back to prior numbers...
    There's also a "detail" setting, and I noticed that the default setting is greater than 0 for the HD input...but I didn't mess with those...
     
  10. PhilipW

    PhilipW Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've notice that the picture is soft. Once I disabled the SVM, I didn't think about going back and working with the sharpness and detail, as I had these both set at -128.
    ------------------
     

Share This Page