What's new

DIrectv Hum and Grounding Question/Problem... (1 Viewer)

chris_steltz

Agent
Joined
Sep 8, 2004
Messages
39
Real Name
Chris Steltz
So I had DTV installed this past weekend and in my home theater I am getting a low hum when my Directv DVR is hooked up to my Yamaha reciever. I have hooked it up in various other inputs including directly to the TV and i still get a hum through my speakers. Is this a grounding issue with the Satellite dish? I noticed the guy ground the dish to the base that the dish mounts too. Any help would be appreciated.
 

John S

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2003
Messages
5,460
Audio or video hooked up? (Many AVR's allow you to switch video through them)

If it is just Audio, try optical. I have had this fix this sort of issue.


Ground loops are tough, sometimes just lifting a ground can solve it. There are AC line devices out there that will help with it as well.
 

Charlie Campisi

Screenwriter
Joined
Aug 20, 2004
Messages
1,645
If you get frustrated you can also have the installer come back. You should get what you pay for and a bad install shouldn't be your problem. I would try to rule out as many other causes as you can before calling them though.
 

chris_steltz

Agent
Joined
Sep 8, 2004
Messages
39
Real Name
Chris Steltz
It is just when I hook up the video. I called the installer back just becasue I dont want to deal with it but im trying to figure out 100% what it is so he knows what to fix. Can thos dish's be grounded to themselves like he did?
 

LewB

Screenwriter
Joined
Feb 11, 2002
Messages
1,282
The coax that comes down from the dish should have a grounding wire with it. That ground wire should go to the same ground that the house electrical panel uses. A cold water pipe will do the trick as long as it's copper and not PVC plastic.
 

John S

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2003
Messages
5,460
Very true Wayne....

But sometimes they can be such a bare to figure out. Lifting a ground starts to look extremely plausable. lol
 

Glenn Overholt

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Mar 24, 1999
Messages
4,201
There should be an outside wall mount for the DTV cable. It will end in an 'F' connecter and a new wire will go into the house. There should also be a screw there that isn't doing anything. Run a wire between that and the house ground, and see if the hum goes away.

Since we are all guessing that is it, call them back and have them fix it!

Glenn
 

Ted Lee

Senior HTF Member
Joined
May 8, 2001
Messages
8,390
not sure, but wouldn't unhooking the coax from the back of the directv receiver verify if that's the cause of the ground loop hum?

since that would take the problematic coax out of the equation?
 

Glenn Overholt

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Mar 24, 1999
Messages
4,201
Yes, but you would have to be positive that the DTV unit's output sockets, the interconnects and whatever it connects to are working properly.

It would totally suck if the installer came back out and did that, only to find that there was something else in the equation.

Glenn
 

chris_steltz

Agent
Joined
Sep 8, 2004
Messages
39
Real Name
Chris Steltz
Ok i have tried pretty mcuh everything just to double check. THe tivo hooke dup without the lines going in equals no hum, as soon as i hook up the DTV line to it i start getting hum. I looked outside tonight to see where the guy ran the ground...well low and behold it does not look like he even grounded it. It is attached to the dish mount but then the wire goes inside the house with the coax wire and doesnt attactch to anything. Im not gonna even bother fixing it just to point out what a dumbass the guy was. UNBELIEVABLE
 

John S

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2003
Messages
5,460
So your saying there is "NO" ground on the dish at all?

That has some potential dangerous life threatening consequences. Get it fixed ASAP.

It is one thing to pull a ground on a piece of equipment, quite another to have an exposed outdoor antenna not fully grounded. That annoying hum, may have just saved some lives!
 

Ted Lee

Senior HTF Member
Joined
May 8, 2001
Messages
8,390
ya know...i don't know if my dish is grounded either, but i really don't think so. i just see the three coax cables running into my house.

what exactly is the danger? lighting strikes the dish, then travels into the house via the coax?
 

John S

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2003
Messages
5,460
Yep.. There is a reason they ground outside antennea.

Not to say some still doesn't get through, but when properly grounded the bulk of the charge is directed into the earth.

Sat dishes probably do not have as big of an exposure to it. But there is no way, I'd have one without a true earth ground on it myself.
 

StephenHa

Second Unit
Joined
Sep 28, 2003
Messages
364
99% of the lightning damage I deal with while working on sat systems are all grounded, lightning comes from the ground not air per se, but if there is a fake ground you can have issues. There is an item before some code authorities regarding the grounding of sat systems, every tech I have talked to that does repair work says the same thing (I do ground the systems when I install them as it is required by code)
 

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Moderator
Premium
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Aug 5, 1999
Messages
6,824
Location
Corpus Christi, TX
Real Name
Wayne
I’ve installed a few for friends and family, and I grounded both the coaxial line and the antenna itself. However, since then I’ve seen conflicting information on whether or not the actual dish should be grounded. Some say it just makes it more prone to having a lightning strike.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt
 

John S

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2003
Messages
5,460
So when you say you grounded the dish? You mean with a local to the dish grounding stake? (or whatever they call that long thing pounded into the earth) I have yet to install one, but I think my time is comming very soon for / with a friend....

So the argument against, is that unless grounded, the dish rarely would get a strike on it?

I have never seen a dish hit, but man have I seen plenty of antenna hit, and it's ugly even with a proper earth ground.

I just can't imagine what it would be like without the earth ground.
 

Ted Lee

Senior HTF Member
Joined
May 8, 2001
Messages
8,390
well, i checked and my dish is definitely *not* grounded. i suppose if it was an issue they would make it a requirement. i'm gonna check out all my friends who have a dish and see if any of them are grounded - which i doubt.

heck, i never even thought about it until john brought it up! :angry: ;)

side question. i have one of them big ass monster power bars with the coax input. if i run my coax into that first, is there any additional level of protection? (of course i have a dual tuner tivo - so two lines running into my living room, but i'll think about that later...)
 

StephenHa

Second Unit
Joined
Sep 28, 2003
Messages
364
both dishnetwork, and directv require the dish and cable to be grounded, as do most local building codes
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Sign up for our newsletter

and receive essential news, curated deals, and much more







You will only receive emails from us. We will never sell or distribute your email address to third party companies at any time.

Latest Articles

Forum statistics

Threads
357,052
Messages
5,129,665
Members
144,281
Latest member
blitz
Recent bookmarks
0
Top