DirecTV + HDTV.....What do I need?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Robert_Powers, Dec 12, 2002.

1. Robert_Powers

Alright, right now I have a DirecTV Plus receiver for the analog 27" TV in the den.My dish is one of those big oval dish's that span about 35" wide that was used for sat internet at one point but not anymore.I have a brand new 54" HDTV sitting in the HT room.Now I want to get HDTV from DirecTV but I also want to keep the regular analog in the living room for the Non-HDTV broadcasting.Do I need to buy another dish for this to work?Or with the oval dish can I buy another single LNB(2 single LNB's on the oval) or a duel LNB?I want to utilize HDTV programming in one room and keep the regular in the other(like it has been).What exactly do I need to make this work and can this be done on one DirecTV bill/account?
    It's allot to ask but I have no clue what the hell I'm going to do.I'm new at this HDTV with sat programming and we only have the one HDTV and I don't want to take away the viewing from the den.I may not be able to afford the HDTV receiver form DirecTV yet but I want a mind set on what all I need to get to make this work.I apologize if this is the wrong forum.I didn't see much of HDTV hardware in the forum descriptions only programming.Thought since this forum explains satellite hardware this would be the place to ask.
    Thanks for any help you can provide.[​IMG]
    Robert

2. Lew Crippen

Lew Crippen Executive Producer