directtv tivo question

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Jeremy Swenson, Dec 15, 2004.

  1. Jeremy Swenson

    Jeremy Swenson Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    using tivo can you just push the button to record and thats it? including network channels that you get off air?
     
  2. Rachael B

    Rachael B Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2000
    Messages:
    4,709
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Location:
    Knocksville, TN
    Real Name:
    Rachael Bellomy
    That's about it. There's other ways to record also, by title, season-pass, time, channel, ect. Are you looking at SD or HD? In either case, you can always hit record for what you're watching. Recording, temporarily, essentially begins everytime you change a tuner. All the models, SD and the HD box all have two tuners. Really, you're just instructing that the current recording/s are saved.
     
  3. Jeremy Swenson

    Jeremy Swenson Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    my main question is if it works the exact same for satelite channels and off air stuff, this is for my dad, and i want it as easy as possible, without switching to a different input if possible
     
  4. Rachael B

    Rachael B Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2000
    Messages:
    4,709
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Location:
    Knocksville, TN
    Real Name:
    Rachael Bellomy
    If it's the HD model, yes. If it's the SD model, yes, if you buy the local channels, it can't record off the air. The SD model has 2 satelite tuners. The HD model has 2 satelite tuners and 2 OTA tuners.
     
  5. Grant B

    Grant B Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2000
    Messages:
    3,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jeremy
    Rachael is always right!
    Just a little to add. I had originally a stand alone Directv box and a seperate TIVO. I found that combination akward and a real problem for my wife to use. I was trying to ween her off me as her own 'personal recorder'.
    Quality was disappointing too.
    Sold those and got a 2 tuner Directb box and it works great!
    Cheers
     
  6. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,310
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    The easiest thing to do is set up a Season Pass. Set it up one time and forget about it.

    Did you know that PVR's had their own section now? link

    -Robert
     

Share This Page