DirecTIVO Dolby Digital Question

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jim Golden, Aug 18, 2002.

  1. Jim Golden

    Jim Golden Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 8, 1999
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't seem to get a Dolby Digital signal from my DirecTIVO. Although I've had the unit for 8 months, this is something I just noticed.

    Before you ask, the only audio connection I'm using is the optical connection. I also have my audio options set to "yes" to enable a Dolby Digital connection whenever it's available.

    My Directv ABC channels often display a Dolby Digital symbol, but I'm not receiving a Dolby Digital symbol (just a PCM). Is something wrong with my unit? Is it possible for a unit to output a PCM signal and not output a Dolby Digital signal? Should I call product support?

    Thanks in advance,
    Jim
     
  2. Bob_L

    Bob_L Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Bob Lindstrom
    Your local station may not be relaying the DD5.1 signal in its broadcast.
    Try to get the DD5.1 signal from HBO or Showtime or one of the other premium services before you're sure that your DirecTiVo is not working. My Hughes DTVo does this just fine.
    And just to mention the obvious (which I've missed several times in my career [​IMG] ) Do you also have your receiver or pre/pro set up to recognize a DD5.1 signal?
     
  3. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,296
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    DirecTV is not relaying any DD sound for locals. Just some (not all) HBO, Showtime, Starz and PPV channels.

    -Robert
     
  4. Dmitry

    Dmitry Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1998
    Messages:
    740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jim,

    if you never buy any PPV movies, you can still check the Dolby Digital signal if you catch it at the very beginning. That way you have a few minutes to check your setup without having to pay to satisfy your curiosity. Just make sure the movie is listed as having DD 5.1 signal. But as others have said, the DD 5.1 channels are few and far between.
     
  5. Jim Golden

    Jim Golden Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 8, 1999
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As always, it's best to check here first before jumping to any conclusions.

    Thanks for all the help,
    Jim
     

Share This Page