DirecTivo-do you need the dual LNB?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by DaveH, Feb 6, 2002.

  1. DaveH

    DaveH Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2000
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Afternoon everyone.

    I've been considering getting a DirecTivo unit, and like the Sony model for the dd 5.1 output. Everything I've read on it says to maximize performance you need a dual LNB connection. Currently, I'm only using a single line and receiver, and don't want to upgrade just yet as I in the last month just re-wired my whole surround/cable/sat connections in the wall and don't want to unhook it to add one additional line.

    I'm wondering if, by using only a single line, the DirecTivo would act like similar to a VCR hooked up to the unit, in that we would have to watch what we want to record.

    And this gives me more incentive to upgrade the house (or just move!)

    Thanks for your help.
     
  2. Stephen Tu

    Stephen Tu Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 1999
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  3. DaveH

    DaveH Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2000
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Stephen. So I can still operate off a single line, but just lose some functionality.
     
  4. BenS

    BenS Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can explain it this way. Last night I was taping Friends on NBC @ 7:00pm while watching CSI on CBS @ 7:00pm. Without the functionality of the dual tuners I would have only been able to watch Friends since that is the program I picked to record. But, like the previous poster noted I could have did something else during the taping of Friends and then during the 8:00 hour when I was taping CSI on CBS. The Directivo would have allowed me to watch a previously recorded episode while taping another.
     

Share This Page