What's new

Direct View vs Rear Projection (1 Viewer)

RyanW

Grip
Hello,

I had a question concerning TVs and what the best way to go is for my money. I would really like a 16:9 aspect TV and have seen that many HD rear projection TVs are at this ratio, but many direct views are not. I have also noted that the direct views are usually more expensive for less screen size. So my basic question is, is there a real down side to rear projection TVs for HT? Are direct view TVs a better purchase? Any assistance and suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Jeff_Galvin

Auditioning
I am no expert like some on this forum, but I have been shopping and have made my purchase and my major question was the same as yours. I ended up with RP. With display size being equal, a tube is always a lot more money than RP. The only downside to RP that I have found is that it is more susceptible to ambient light (meaning if you have it in a room near a window when the sun is on that side of the house, then it can get pretty washed out. It also functions as a pretty high quality mirror and during the daytime, you can see yourself and the couch in the screen sometimes. At night or in a darkened room, RP will come up to speed just fine and for the same dollar buy you much more size. My shopping got me to two results: Pioneer Elite RP (53") and Sony 16:9 tube (40") - I went with Pioneer and no regrets - it is awesome. I spent over $5000, but to get a tube that big would have been as much as new car. Also with RP if you do things like lay on the floor in front of it or get way off to the side, then it loses focus and brightness, but you can line up 6 people on a 11 foot couch 8 feet away from the Pioneer and they are all good, as good as a quality $9 a seat theatre view. Good luck on your choices.

Michael TLV

THX Video Instructor/Calibrator
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Michael Chen
Greetings