Direct tivo units...questions about cable signal

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Chuck Paskovics, Oct 4, 2002.

  1. Chuck Paskovics

    Chuck Paskovics Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm contimplating a direct tivo unit. Since the tivo is built into the dss receiver, is it possible to record not just dss signals, but also the cable signal? So if there is something on my local channels will I be able to record it to tivo or am I limited to only dss signals?

    If so, can I record both a dss signal and a cable signal at the same time (with the duel boxes)?
     
  2. Brian Gentry

    Brian Gentry Agent

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    AFAIK, the DirecTivo units do not have an MPEG encoder built in to them. Nor do they have external inputs. So, you won't be able to record off of cable using this unit.

    The chief reason that they are able to offer the ability to record from two DBS streams at the same time, is that there is no encoding to worry about. They just take the satellite signal, already MPEG-2 encoded, and put it on disk.

    Brian.
     
  3. David WS

    David WS Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can get local channels via DirecTV in most major markets now (Even PBS, WB and UPN). So in a way your problem with recording local channels is moot. If you don't want Sat service, you need to get a standalone(Analog) Tivo. It will allow you to record from Cable.
     
  4. Mark_E_Smith

    Mark_E_Smith Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page