What's new

Digital vs Analog External Inputs on my 4800 (1 Viewer)

Mike Lindsey

Auditioning
I have a Denon 4800 and a Panasonic RP91 DVD player (192khz/24 bit). Just recently, I started playing some of my 5.1 DD music DVD's (James Taylor Live at the Beacon Theater, YES Live at the House of Blues and Fleetwood Mac's The Dance) and have always played these thru the Digital cable from the DVD Player, and the Denon set to Auto. Just for the heck of it, I decided to switch to the External Inputs and OH MY GOD, WHAT A DIFFERENCE! :) One of the reasons I have never tried this is I thought the DAC's in the Denon were superior to the Panasonic's. Am I wrong here?
Using the External Inputs, there is so much more separation between the instruments as well as it being so much more dynamic. I am also hearing much more sound coming from the surrounds than I am from the digital cable. Do I have something set wrong for this to happen or is this how I am supposed to be playing them? I just thought the External Inputs were for the DVD-Audio discs only. The one area where the digital cable may have an advantage is the bass. It seems there is a lot more bass while in DD 5.1 versus the analog inputs. Can someone also explain this? The 5.1 DD version seems a little more muddied where the analog version is more balanced. If anybody has any input on this I would greatly appreciate it.
BTW, Here is my equipment list:
Hitachi 43UWX10B HDTV (16:9)
Denon AVR-4800
Acurus A200X3
Panasonic DVD-RP91K
Dual CS-5000 Turntable w/Shure V15V-MR
DBX 3bx Series III Range Expander
Mains - Klipsch Chorus II (Oiled Oak/Acurus Amp)
Center - Klipsch KLF-C7 (Finished Black/Acurus Amp)
Surrounds - Klipsch Chorus I's (Finished Black/Denon)
Surround Back - Klipsch RS-3's (White/Denon)
SVS 20-39CS Sub w/Samson S700 Amp
Monster HTS-3500 Line Conditioner
Scientific Atlanta Explorer 2100 Digital Cable box
Monster M-500 Component Video cables
Monster Datalink 100 Digital Coaxial cables