1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Digital to analog audio conversion: how will I connect the devices?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by phildtr, Aug 16, 2017.

  1. phildtr

    phildtr Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Real Name:
    Philip
    I have a Samsung 4k Smart Tv and an old Technics SA-EX700 Dolby Surround AV-Receiver and I want to be able to get the sound from the TV to play on the sound system connected to the AV control.

    Since the audio output of the TV is digital (Toslink connection) and the input from of the ampliphier is analog I had to buy a digital to analog audio converter.

    The converter I bought was this one:

    [​IMG]

    And the connections of the Technics SA-EX700 are these:

    [​IMG]

    The converter has 3 3.5mm phone jack inputs (1 front left/front right, 1 surroud left/surround right and 1 subwoofer/something else that I don't know). This will lead to 5 RCA jacks. And my question is: where do exactly I connect them in my amp? Should I connect both front and surround cables in the VCR input and the subwoofer one in the subwoofer input? Is that the right way to connect it? Where will the sixth cable be connected?
     
  2. Message #2 of 16 Aug 16, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2017
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,507
    Likes Received:
    158
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Corpus Christi, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Your receiver would need 5.1 inputs for that converter, which it doesn’t have. You need a basic digital to analog stereo converter.

    By the way, the subwoofer jack is an output, not an input...

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
    phildtr likes this.
  3. Message #3 of 16 Aug 18, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2017
    phildtr

    phildtr Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Real Name:
    Philip
    Thank you very much for your answer, Wayne.
    But I still have a question. Will the Dolby Pro Logic from the amp be able to convert the 2.1 from the converter into 5.1 emulated surround?
    For example, I'm watching a movie that was recorded in 5.1. This digital signal is sent to the converter which will convert it to analog stereo. Will the amp be able to convert it to 5.1 anyway?

    Kind regards.
     
  4. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,507
    Likes Received:
    158
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Corpus Christi, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    If the receiver is Dolby Pro Logic, then it will convert a stereo signal to Dolby Pro Logic, not Dolby Digital 5.1. However, with Dolby Pro Logic, the rear channel signal (mono split out to two speakers) was basically an out of phase signal with the front speakers. Back in the day movies were specifically mixed for Dolby Pro Logic with this in mind, as it was how the rear channels were generated. That’s obviously not the case today, so there’s no telling what kind of surround sound you’ll be getting with a movie that started life as discrete 5.1.

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
    phildtr likes this.
  5. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    12,577
    Likes Received:
    2,131
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    If the TV has an analog audio output, just connect it to the TV input on the receiver. Also, there's no .1 with DPL.

    BTW, there are DACs that take a DD input ant output matrixed, 2 channel analog.
     
  6. phildtr

    phildtr Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Real Name:
    Philip
    Really?!
    I tried to do a quick search and couldn't find any. The closest I got was this one. But I don't think it does what you say.
    Do you know any DAC that does that?
     
  7. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    12,577
    Likes Received:
    2,131
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    This One clearly says it does. I know I've seen others, but this was just the first one that came up.
     
  8. phildtr

    phildtr Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Real Name:
    Philip
    I was specifically searching with the "matrix" keyword. I will search a little bit more. Meanwhile I will test the second one that I bought when it arrives.
     
  9. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    12,577
    Likes Received:
    2,131
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    They're probably not going to use the word "matrix". I just searched for DTS and DAC.
     
  10. phildtr

    phildtr Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Real Name:
    Philip
    Yes, I did a search with those keywords and found a lot of results.
    One other question. Does this mean that my amp will have a trashy surround sound when connected to the DAC without Dolby Digital support that I bought?
     
  11. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    12,577
    Likes Received:
    2,131
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    It should sound fine. In fact, it might have a subtle surround effect, since the surround channels are in the audio. Basically, it will be Dolby Pro Logic, which was the first home surround format.
     
  12. Message #12 of 16 Aug 31, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2017
    phildtr

    phildtr Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Real Name:
    Philip
    Well, I am buying this converter specifically to have the most of my surround system even though my AVR is actually Dolby Pro Logic (the very first one with the monophonic surround channels). For what you tell I guess there is not that much of a difference from this one that I bought to a Dolby Digital decoder. Correct me if I'm wrong.
    Anyways I will make sure to tell what was the result when it arrives.
     
  13. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    12,577
    Likes Received:
    2,131
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    I still suspect you may be adding in stuff that accomplishes nothing. If the TV has a two channel (L&R) analog audio output, just connect the receiver to that. Done. Same result. Exact same result.
     
  14. phildtr

    phildtr Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Real Name:
    Philip
    it doesn't. It only has a Toslkink output.
    [​IMG]
     
  15. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    22,756
    Likes Received:
    4,052
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Catfisch Cinema
    Real Name:
    Dave
    ManW_TheUncool likes this.
  16. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    12,577
    Likes Received:
    2,131
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    Yep! Keep on the path you're taking and you'll likely spend that much anyway and end up with something that doesn't really work.
     

Share This Page