digital or analog a/v receiver?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Richard Solomon, Jan 1, 2006.

1. Richard Solomon

Richard Solomon Auditioning

I'm completely new to HT and am assembling my first system. I'm stuck between an entry level HK 235, Marantz 4500, Pioneer 815, on the analog side, and the Panasonic XR70 on the digital. Very positive reviews for all of these machines (especially the analog ones) and all will no doubt work for me. But the Panny has an HDMI connection, a nice extra for the future and it's supposed to run much cooler. This may translate into more durability.
    BTW, my room is small-less than 2000 cubic feet; I also have a commercial Panasonic plasma and Hsu ventriloquist speakers with their STF-2 sub.
    I'm leaning toward the digital Panasonic, but am concerned that it's still a bit too early to make the jump to all digital in that better entry-level machines will be around when I'm ready to upgrade.
    Thanks for any advice you can give me.
    Richard

2. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Wayne
    I’ve heard nothing but good things about the digital Pannys, as far as sound quality goes, so there’s no reason not to give it serious consideration. As far as durability, this product category hasn’t been around long enough to say for certain.

An important thing that needs to be considered is a receiver’s remote. IMO the remote is a “makes or breaks” deal. If it isn’t user friendly, your viewing experience is an exercise in frustration. Basically, you want your receiver’s remote to be able control at least the basic functions of all you components. If not, you end up shuffling a handful or remotes, grabbing a different one each time you want to mute, fast forward, etc.

Most remotes these days have at least pre-programmed codes for various components, but they usually don’t control all functions. Therefore it’s important that the remote to have per-button learning capability.

Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt

3. FeisalK

FeisalK Screenwriter