1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Digital Cable

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Matthew BW, May 25, 2002.

  1. Matthew BW

    Matthew BW Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    We got digital cable about two weeks ago. I just ordered a pay per view movie through on demand and the question I have is my recieever did not seem to switch to either dolby digital or DTS. In the creditd it says the movie was in both. I have the cable box hooked up to my Kenwwod VR 507 recevier using the digiatl coax connection. I made sure that the reciver was set to digital auto sound. I tried digital manual sound but I still could not choose Dolby digital. The reciever never changed from pro logic.
     
  2. John Gido

    John Gido Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have Comcast Digital Cable here in NJ and they don't even offer the "good" converter box with digital audio connections or S-video. However, I did notice that everytime my wife orders a payperview movie from their "Video On-Demand" service (the one that gives you the movie for 24 hrs and the ability to Pause, FF, Rew, etc.) I only get sound from my center speaker. Based on that, I think that the broadcast from Comcast is in MONO. Comcast can offer no explaination. [​IMG]
     
  3. Mike Matheson

    Mike Matheson Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Matthew,

    Does your receiver ever indicate DD 2.0 or DD 5.1 encoding when just generally watching channels 100 or above?
     
  4. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    5,110
    That doesn't necessarily mean you aren't receiving Dolby Digital. Many cable channels and providers don't provide anything beyond a 2-channel DD signal (also known as "DD 2.0"). Your receiver would treat such a signal the same way it would treat a stereo analog signal -- i.e., ProLogic decoding.
    M.
     
  5. chiante

    chiante Agent

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have cox digital cable and i have it hooked up to the coax input on my receiver and set the sound in the cable box menu to digital audio. channels 100 and above all broadcast in prologic II or dd surround. most newer movies are in dd surround. before cnn/si went off air, i received them in dd surround. check your cable box set-up menu.
     
  6. Matthew BW

    Matthew BW Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    we do not have any of the premium channels so I do not know if dolbyu digital works for them.
     
  7. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    5,110
     
  8. chiante

    chiante Agent

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i didn't go into enough detail, the dd channels either are 5.1 or 2.0, most are 2.0. cnn/si was in 5.1, some of the more recent movies on hbo,cmax,showtime,and tmc are in 5.1 but most are in 2.0. the channels in pro-logic can be listened to in plII movie mode(sorry for not explaining thoroughly)
     

Share This Page