Digital Cable

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Chris Huber, Jun 20, 2004.

  1. Chris Huber

    Chris Huber Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    We just got Digital cable with teh single box. It has optical out in the back. It's only hooked up with RCA L & R right now.

    When I turn on HD HBO, the sound is in Pro-Logic II. When I hook in optical out, it's still on ProLogic II, but sayd Digital on teh reciever instead of analog.

    So, I guess only Pro-Logic II comes through on Digital Cable?
     
  2. Chris Huber

    Chris Huber Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    We just got Digital cable with teh single box. It has optical out in the back. It's only hooked up with RCA L & R right now.

    When I turn on HD HBO, the sound is in Pro-Logic II. When I hook in optical out, it's still on ProLogic II, but sayd Digital on teh reciever instead of analog.

    So, I guess only Pro-Logic II comes through on Digital Cable?
     
  3. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    2

    It depends on your cable provider. Even then, not everything is broadcast in DD 5.1. Much of HBO's HD content is DD 2.0, which your receiver is apparently set to decode in ProLogic 2.

    Try HBO-HD tonight (Sunday, 6/20) during Six Feet Under (either 8pm or 9pm, depending on your location). The current season is broadcast in DD 5.1. If you don't get 5.1 during that broadcast, then your cable provider isn't sending it.

    M.
     
  4. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    2

    It depends on your cable provider. Even then, not everything is broadcast in DD 5.1. Much of HBO's HD content is DD 2.0, which your receiver is apparently set to decode in ProLogic 2.

    Try HBO-HD tonight (Sunday, 6/20) during Six Feet Under (either 8pm or 9pm, depending on your location). The current season is broadcast in DD 5.1. If you don't get 5.1 during that broadcast, then your cable provider isn't sending it.

    M.
     
  5. Chris Huber

    Chris Huber Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is On Demand Six Feet Under in DD 5.1? Cause I have it hooked up now and it comes through as ProLogicII.
     
  6. Chris Huber

    Chris Huber Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is On Demand Six Feet Under in DD 5.1? Cause I have it hooked up now and it comes through as ProLogicII.
     
  7. Chris Huber

    Chris Huber Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is not DD 5.1 in On Demand. However, I do get DD 5.1 with Insight cable. Just found out on HDNET[​IMG]
     
  8. Chris Huber

    Chris Huber Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is not DD 5.1 in On Demand. However, I do get DD 5.1 with Insight cable. Just found out on HDNET[​IMG]
     

Share This Page