Difference between Progressive and 3:2 pulldown?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by jeff lam, Nov 12, 2001.

1. jeff lam

jeff lam Screenwriter

Jun 4, 2001
    Jeff Lam
    I'm new to the HDTV world and I am learning a lot. I understand interlaced and progressive now but what I don't understand is 3:2 pulldown. What is this and what's the difference between this and progressive? My local HIFI store calls the DVD's progressive, and TV's progressive image "Progressive". I thought the TV's line doubler was 3:2 pulldown. Isn't a line doubler the same as progressive? So where does 3:2 pulldown fit in?
  2. David West

David West Auditioning

Apr 3, 2001
    A line doubler does just that, doubles the lines scanned on the screen in any given amount of time. Line doublers can result in either a progressive output (480i --> 480p) or interlaced output (480i --> 960i).
    Check this site out, it articulates what line doubling and inverse 3-2 pulldown are...
  3. Chris Vargas

Chris Vargas Agent

Oct 13, 2001
    That article is excellent but intensive. Here's a quick, hopefully accurate, description of 3-2 pulldown.
    Movies run at 24 frames per second. Interlaced TV runs at 30 frames a second, 2 fields per frame. In order to pad 24 movie frames out to fit 60 video fields, if you do the math, you have to put 2 movie frames into 5 video fields. To do this, they duplicate movie frames. The first movie frame goes into 3 video fields, the next movie frame goes into 2 video fields, and so on. 3, then 2, therefore 3-2 pulldown (as in pulling down frames into video fields).
    Unfortunately, this means they end up having to split up some movie frames across separate video fields, and have a single video frame composed of two separate movie frames, one frame in one video field, one frame in the other. This can cause nasty visual artifacts.