What's new

difference between amp types (1 Viewer)

George Anderson

Auditioning
ok, ive read the basics and this didnt really help me.
my question is, what is the differences between classes and the like?

mosfet
toroidial
class A-G, A/B
digital
single ended

im no electrical engineer by any means. can someone help me out?

i want good amps for my HT but cant see spending that much for a new one. want to hit the local pawn shops for good amps but want to know which is which.

Wayde_R

Stunt Coordinator
I'll give you a bit of info on each that I know, which isn't a lot really.

mosfet

Metal Oxide Semiconductor Field-Effect Transistor. A type of Trasistor. Pioneer likes to use them on some of their amps and they claim a "warm" sound as if from a tube amp. The jury's still out if the mosfet offers any benefit in output stage of your amps, but it's certainly not a bad thing.

toroidial

Usually associated with a Transformer and not a transistor at all. Toroidial are round, I think there is actually a brand name that uses that name for their transformers. In any even it's usually "marketed" as a good thing in manuals so I guess it's okay but I wouldn't believe it's the end all GOTTA HAVE A TOROIDIAL!! But for certain a nice beefy transformer is a good thing in an amp because the transformer dictates the total capacity of current your amp can enjoy (if I'm wrong surely someone here will jump on this one).

class A-G, A/B

I've heard of A/B and they represent the efficiency of the amps themselves. Someone else can explain it better because I'm not sure which is which exactly (without looking it up) but... one is more efficient and tends to find its way in more expensive gear and the other is less efficient (produces more head) and is found in 99% of all consumer electronics gear. There is also the little voice that says that use of A or B amp is not necessarily indictative of the quality of your amplifier.

digital