Desktop & surfing on anolog TV - How to get it to look decent?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Tom Garvey, Dec 17, 2001.

  1. Tom Garvey

    Tom Garvey Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 1999
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried and it doesn't look so good... too bright-dark, too blurry, too big-small..

    How do they do it on techtv? Are they all digital tvs (they don't look like they are)?
     
  2. Jason Merrick

    Jason Merrick Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2000
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Simi Valley, CA (Los Angeles)
    Real Name:
    Jason Merrick
    I've never done it, so I am not speaking from experience here.. but have you tried changing the resolution & color depth? Maybe 800x600 16-bit?
     
  3. Iain Lambert

    Iain Lambert Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 1999
    Messages:
    1,345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Use a Dreamcast to surf? Thats what I do if I want stuff onto the TV.
     
  4. Tom Garvey

    Tom Garvey Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 1999
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  5. Ken Chan

    Ken Chan Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 1999
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd imagine it would be blurry all around. A standard (non-HD) TV always displays about 480 scanlines (i.e. vertical resolution), no more, no less. If you're running higher, the video card might shrink the desktop before sending out the video (or S-video) connection, making everything soft.

    But there's no reason the picture should be brighter just in the middle. That would indicate a problem with the video card or the TV.

    //Ken
     

Share This Page