What's new

Denon3801 vs 3802 (and DTS Neo vs DPL2) (1 Viewer)

Gil D

Supporting Actor
The only significant difference I can see that 3802 brings to the table is DPL2. Now that the Denon 3801 is available hundreds less than the 3802, is DPL2 really that much better than Neo?
I have some experience with DPL2 on my Onkyo 626 used as a pre/pro but don't have much experience with the newer Denons. DPL2 is pretty effective for movies on the Onkyo but so wasn't my Sony ES w/out this format. I never cared for DPL on my Denon 3200 so need to know if Neo is going to be pretty close to DPL2 and therefore acceptable for stereo and DPL movies off satellite and laser.
What about sonic performance using the internal D/A, analog bypass, and 6/7 channel input. Is the 3802 better or worse? I am interested in transparent analog performance using stereo analog bypass and 6 channel inputs for SACD. Solid D/A using the receiver's interanl DACs would be a big plus for PCM stereo from a CD megachanger.
Also, how good is the remote that comes with the Denons and what can be done with the LCD display on the remote. I actually liked the Sony 2-way LCD remote although it was rather slow.
Thanks for the input.

Gil D

Supporting Actor
Sound & Vision gave the big thumbs up on the Matrix mode over Neo on the 3801. Is the Matrix mode still available on the 3802 and anyone compare it to DPL2 and Neo?
The measurements also look to be pretty solid for a piece in this class.
Any reviews on the 3802 out yet?

Aaron H

Supporting Actor
Bump up for the question: Is the 3802 worth the extra $$ over the 3801 now? I'm seeing the 3801 go in the high 600's on www.pricescan.com. Do you think it can really go any lower? I guess the 3802 is going for $900, so that's only a savings of $200.
I know I want one of these 2 receivers. Just gotta decide if having the newer version is wirth $200.
Thanks, Aaron

Wayne Reibold

Stunt Coordinator