What's new

Denon Nakamichi or Harmon Kardon? (1 Viewer)

I'm just about to plunk money down on the Denon 4802, but a freind at work brought into question it's Amp sections comparability to the Nakamichi, and Harmon Kardon brands...
He mentioned something about "High Bandwidth" in relation to it's power supply... And a stat with an anachronim "TIM".
Does anyone know what these features and measurments are?
Does the Denon 4802 have Glass epoxy "high end" circuit boards? do the other brands?
Any info rendered in the cause of helping my decide would be greatly appreciated...
Doug

Todd Hochard

Senior HTF Member
Does HK or Nakamichi have anything comparable to the feature set of the 4802?
Take a look at this forum- Denon is probably the most popular receiver brand. Personally, I've been buying Denon for 14 years, and I've yet to be disappointed.
The 4800 was an outstanding receiver, and the package "delivered the goods," so to speak. Check the archives. I would think the 4802 will be similar (with regard to power and sound), but take it up a notch with features. (dts-es and DPLII)
Glass Epoxy boards? Are you looking to drop test it??
biggrin.gif
It's about 50lbs, so watch your toes!
eek.gif

TIM doesn't ring a bell.
Todd

JohanK

Second Unit
TIM is Transient InterModulation distortion (sometimes called TID). It is usually unmeasurable. Supposedly,, in layman's terms, when transients occur, the amplifier has a difficult time to adapt so distortion occurs.
------------------
http://www.hometheaterforum.com/bbs/equipment/28687.html
Link Removed

Richard Travale

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Rich Travale
Let me start by saying that I have the Nakamichi AV-8, which I love. That being said, the top of the line Nak, the AV10 is probably comparable, at BEST, to the Denon AVR 3801(IMO). While Nakamichi makes a fine product, Denon, especially the higher models like the 4800 and up, are far superior(IMHO). Just my 2cents worth.
------------------
Rich