1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

denon digital out

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by tom derby, Jan 15, 2004.

  1. tom derby

    tom derby Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a denon 2803 receiver and i am currently trying to hook my minidisc player up to it through the digital out so it can record from the other sources I have, mainly the htpc. Is there anything special i have to do other than just plugging it in? When i try to record the minidisc player say "DIN unlock" Do i have to assign this output or something?
     
  2. BrianWoerndle

    BrianWoerndle Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think I have read somewhere that you have to use optical inputs 4 or 5.
     
  3. tom derby

    tom derby Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have it hooked to the optical out #4
     
  4. BrianWoerndle

    BrianWoerndle Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you have the source hooked up to optical in #4?
     
  5. tom derby

    tom derby Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No the source is through coaxial cable. If i had to have the source hooked to that input then i would only be able to record from one specific source? I wouldn't be able to record from other sources? that doesn't make sense. i'm really trying to record from my htpc to the minidisc. I have a usb (M-Audio, sonica) device that allows me to output directly to the minidisc player and that works but then i can't hear the music through the reciever. If i could get the pc to allow me to output audio to the receiver and the minidisc player i'd be alright, but i can only make it choose one source to output to. Any way i can record onto the minidisc from the pc without having to choose between the outputs would be great. I wouldn't really mind switching the output source when i want to record but it requires i restart the computer which is a hassle.
     
  6. BrianWoerndle

    BrianWoerndle Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know it doesn't make much sense, but I think that is how the 3803 works. Hopefully someone can correct me, because I am not positive. The (horrible) manual doesn't say, but I remember reading a post on a board not to long ago about it.
     

Share This Page