1. Visit this thread for your chance to win a selection of Lionsgate action films on UV!
    Dismiss Notice

denon digital out

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by tom derby, Jan 15, 2004.

  1. tom derby

    tom derby Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a denon 2803 receiver and i am currently trying to hook my minidisc player up to it through the digital out so it can record from the other sources I have, mainly the htpc. Is there anything special i have to do other than just plugging it in? When i try to record the minidisc player say "DIN unlock" Do i have to assign this output or something?
     
  2. BrianWoerndle

    BrianWoerndle Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think I have read somewhere that you have to use optical inputs 4 or 5.
     
  3. tom derby

    tom derby Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have it hooked to the optical out #4
     
  4. BrianWoerndle

    BrianWoerndle Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have the source hooked up to optical in #4?
     
  5. tom derby

    tom derby Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    No the source is through coaxial cable. If i had to have the source hooked to that input then i would only be able to record from one specific source? I wouldn't be able to record from other sources? that doesn't make sense. i'm really trying to record from my htpc to the minidisc. I have a usb (M-Audio, sonica) device that allows me to output directly to the minidisc player and that works but then i can't hear the music through the reciever. If i could get the pc to allow me to output audio to the receiver and the minidisc player i'd be alright, but i can only make it choose one source to output to. Any way i can record onto the minidisc from the pc without having to choose between the outputs would be great. I wouldn't really mind switching the output source when i want to record but it requires i restart the computer which is a hassle.
     
  6. BrianWoerndle

    BrianWoerndle Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know it doesn't make much sense, but I think that is how the 3803 works. Hopefully someone can correct me, because I am not positive. The (horrible) manual doesn't say, but I remember reading a post on a board not to long ago about it.
     

Share This Page