What's new

Denon AVR-5800 vs. B&K AVR307.... (1 Viewer)

Hello all! A newbie here. Just found the site a week ago and this is my first post. This is a GREAT site!
I am thinking of upgrading from my current receiver(Denon 3300)to the 4802 or 5800. My question for the folks that may have a familiarity with B&K products, is which do you prefer from a sound quality standpoint, 5800 or 307? Not concerned with flexibility, growth, etc. as I know either would be a step above the 3300 in those areas. Not too concerned with music at this point, mainly movie soundtracks.
My current system consists of the above receiver, the Denon DVD-3300(which I am replacing with the DVD-2800 most likely, now that they are back in stock, or RP91/Sony9000,something progressive), and Klipsch SF-2 fronts, Klipsch KSW12 powered sub(soon to be replaced by SVS), Klipsch center and Klipsch di-pole surrounds.
I look forward to your input and Thanks to all.

Jeremy Hegna

Supporting Actor
Jordan,
You'll find many defenders on both sides of the track.
The truth is, they are both phenomenal receivers. Have you had a chance to listen to both? This is a must before you plunk down that much coin.
The Denon is the leader in features, however, there is a possible upgrade route for both. The B&K does have bass management (universal) which the Denon lacks...supposedly this will be in the optional upgrade package on the way for the 5800....basically the same ingredients that the "new" 4802 has.
You did mention you don't care about the upgrade paths, so I'll quit there.
I prefer the sound of the 5800, because, like you, I was a former 3300 owner. I love the sound of Denon's receivers and I'm familiar with them. These made it a simple choice for me. There are others that prefer the "Mosfet" sound of the B&K.
IMO, you can't go wrong with either receiver, especially driving something as simple as Klipsch (high sensitivity).
You'll get a sh#@tload of sound out of whichever you choose.