Denon auto-calibration....?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Vader, Feb 2, 2005.

  1. Vader

    Vader Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 1999
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    24
    Real Name:
    Derek
    Someone mentioned in another thread that Denon instructs users to set their amps to "0 dB" prior to calibration using the auto-setup feature. I was unable to find this anywhere in the documentation (either the hardcopy, or a text search through the Adobe version). I have also calibrated several times with the volume set at minimum, with good results; I would let the amp do it's thing, then fine tune the traditional way (using a Rat Shack SPL meter). What am I missing?
     
  2. Walter Scott

    Walter Scott Agent

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, my Pio sets the volume to 0dB when it goes into setup. I'm pretty happy with the auto set up: I checked levels using the Video Essentials DVD and an SPL meter. I found levels checked to within 2 dB.
     
  3. Vader

    Vader Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 1999
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    24
    Real Name:
    Derek
    Walter, does your Pio revert back to minimum volume (or whatever you had it set to prior to the auto-setup) after it is finished?
     
  4. Walter Scott

    Walter Scott Agent

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    As I recall, it does.
     
  5. Vader

    Vader Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 1999
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    24
    Real Name:
    Derek
    Walter,

    Thanks! That clears up some confusion....:)
     

Share This Page