Denon 5800 w/ seperate amp

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jim Carr, Aug 5, 2002.

1. Jim Carr

Jim Carr Stunt Coordinator

I hear alot of talk about pre/pro, using receivers AND seperate amps... I must admit, I'm still learning, and have a LONG way to go.
    My question is this,
    I have a Denon 5800, upgraded from an Onkyo 898, the difference is AMAZING! Anyway.. I have a Kenwood M1 200x2 amp that is powering my SVS sub, I have one extra slot there, should I plug my center channel up to it? Are there any advantage/disadvantages to this?
    In the future, I think I would like to get a ### x 3 amp to power the front and center channels and let the 5800 power the surrounds and rears. Would that give me a significant improvement?
    Sorry if these questions are stupid.. still learning! [​IMG]
    thanks again!!!
    Jim

2. Howard_S

Howard_S Supporting Actor

Hi Jim I'm looking into external amplification myself. I currently have a 49tx.

I definitely would not have your kenwood power your center channel, let it power your sub only.

The 5800's amp section is generally regarded as pretty good. Like many others have told me I would defintitely audition some amps in your home first. I do think external amplification will improve your sound (assuming you'll get a good amp) What are you trying to achieve? Which is more important? Music? HT? Your speakers and room size also plays a big role in your amp choices. You might want to buy an amp that blends into your system a little more or a better/more transparent amp that may expose the flaws of your current system.

3. BobRoulier

BobRoulier Second Unit