Denon 3803 is clipping out...Why?? Please HELP!

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Jason Cheung, Oct 24, 2003.

1. Jason Cheung

Jason Cheung Agent

I'm a HT noob. I need help...please!

Here's my system:

Fronts: B&W 801's
    Centre: B&W HTM-2
    Surr: B&W CDM-SNT
    Sub: [None just yet]
    Receiver: Denon 3803
    External Amp (powering the 801's): Audio Research VT-50

My room is about 20ft x 9ft x 10ft

Here's the problem:

After calibrating the speakers and setting the Bass tone up to +10dB (and subsequently at +6dB), while watching scenes from Matrix Reloaded, the 3803 clipped out. I don't have a subwoofer, and my friend (who knows a little more about this stuff) said the surrounds and possibly the centre needs more current.

The surrounds (B&W CDM-SNT's) have a minimum of 4.8 ohms. The HTM-2 centre has a minimum of 4.6 ohms. But the Denon 3803 is only capable of 8 ohms...or 6...I'm not even sure!

Basically, my friend told me the 3803 is not providing enough juice to the surrounds (and possibly the centre). The first suggestion he made is to get a new receiver, one that can put out 4 ohms. Another possible solution is to get external amps.

I wonder if putting in a subwoofer would solve this problem. My friend said the surrounds may be handling a lot of bass, and so causing the receiver to clip. My thinking would be to finally get that subwoofer (I've been meaning to get) and to see if this will solve the clipping problem.

Is this a good solution, or would I just be better off improving the receiver or getting into separates altogether?

I know there are a lot of possibilities...but I just don't know what those are. Can you suggest some...give me options, even some products that will go well with my speakers?

Thanks...

Dazed and confused,

Jason Cheung

2. Marty Neudel

Marty Neudel Stunt Coordinator

Jason,