Denon 3802 Tuner question

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Don Morrison, Aug 20, 2002.

  1. Don Morrison

    Don Morrison Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok. So I bought a 3802 a few weeks ago. Can't be much happier. Just have a quick question though. It is hard to get any weak FM signals throughthe tuner so far. I know that it says that you can hook up a larger attenna than what is supplied with it... but how do you do that? It will only let me plug in the indoor antenna, and the coax adapted that they supplied with it wont attach to the back of the recevier. How do I make this work??
     
  2. Henry_W

    Henry_W Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There are simple converters from RatShack, if I am not mistaken, that give you all the leads you need for FM. You are probably stuck with the in box AM alternative.

    Regardless, I have found the Tuner in the 3802 to be the weakess part of the unit (and I am extremely happy with the unit otherwise). If FM reception and good tuning is important to you, an outboard tuner may be in your future.
     
  3. Robb Roy

    Robb Roy Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I replaced the wire that came with my unit with a longer run of cheap speaker wire, and my 3802 now pulls in stations much better.
     
  4. David Berry

    David Berry Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don,

    I don't know if this is an option for you, but (a) do you have cable TV? If yes, (b) do you get FM radio through it. Here in Southern Ontario, I can get many strong FM signals via hooking up the coax cable to the back of my 3802.

    David
     

Share This Page