What's new

Denon 3802 or Sony DA4ES ??? (1 Viewer)

Antonio_B

Stunt Coordinator
Hi everyone,i would like to know which receiver between thoes 2 is better in terms of sound quality,options,etc.

Thanks a lot in advance!!!
Later.

Antonio_B

Stunt Coordinator
An answer would be really appreciated guys, cause it will help me decide which one to buy.

Later.

Wayne Ernst

Senior HTF Member
Antonio,

I've been a big fan of Denon, but I've never used their 3802. I currently own a Sony STR-DA4ES and was in the process of purchasing a Denon 3802 for use in another area of my house, but I became unemployed and couldn't complete the purchase - so, that ended my ability to be able to compare the two.

However, I've been running a Sony STR-DA4ES for a few months now. Compared to the Denon AVR-1802, AVR-1803 receivers, I really love the Sony. The Denon receivers were fine receivers, but paying another $300 towards the Sony bought a lot of options. Plus, the headroom on the Sony is much greater (110 watts per channel vs. 80 watts per channel.)

Prior to purchasing the Sony, I did have a chance to demo the AVR-3802 against the STR-DA4ES at a local electronics retailer. While in their showroom, I thought the Denon sounded better - initially. It turned out that the Sony had been "adjusted" a bit so their settings were way off. After some adjusting, the sound came around a bit. I still thought the Denon sounded slightly better. However, in my personal listening envrionment, the Sony sounds fantastic. I have no desire to replace this receiver.

terence

Supporting Actor
Hi Antonio,