Denon 3802/4802 - NO FRONT INPUTS??

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by bryan_chow, Dec 5, 2001.

  1. bryan_chow

    bryan_chow Agent

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2000
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just found out that the Denon 3802 and 4802 do not have front inputs. Isn't that a major inconvenience? When I play my PS2 or Dreamcast I always take it out of the closet and plug it to the front input of my Sony receiver.

    What do you guys do with your game consoles?

    Bryan
     
  2. RyanDinan

    RyanDinan Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think most people would prefer to connect it to the front A/V inputs on the TV. If you have the TV's audio out going to the receiver, there's no reason to loop the video through it....unless of course you don't want to manually switch the receiver's audio AND the TV's video...

    -Ryan
     
  3. Jordan Tracey

    Jordan Tracey Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    UGH! If you have a PS2 or X-box why would you just connect with analog rca mess? Or even s-video? Forget that....When I get them, they are getting connected with Component video and opitcal digital input. Anyways, Xbox games are coming in 16:9 1080i...with DD surround....Who needs analog inputs on the front?!
     
  4. Jay_E

    Jay_E Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  5. Bernard L

    Bernard L Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yah, I never really understood why denon doesn't add the front inputs.

    I mean, I doubt it costs them much for the added option... and chances are, they'll manage to sell enough extra machines to cover the costs.
     
  6. Jordan Tracey

    Jordan Tracey Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why not just keep the gaming system out all the time? Like in a shelf like the other components? I don't see the reasoning it putting it up in a closet...My friend's brother does that...I just keep mine out all the time and not hassle with hooking it up and stuff...
     
  7. Mike_A

    Mike_A Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    or just leave the PS2 end of the plug hanging loose and the video/audio end plugged into the receiver....

    i personally feel like front inputs are a wasted input since I like to leave everything hooked up, and it sure is ugly with cables running to the front when i need that last input
     
  8. Chip E

    Chip E Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My XBox is sitt'n right in the rack with my other gear. Bottom shelf, connected via component & TosLink. [​IMG]
    - Chip
     

Share This Page