What's new

Denon 3801 test tones? (1 Viewer)

Chriss M

Second Unit
I just picked up a radio shack spl meter and im trying to calibrate my system using the built-in test tones with the 3801. I'll pick up the Avia disc later on but for now this is all i have. In the manual, it says to calibrate the tones to 75db, but they seem to be alot closer to 85db than 75. In order to get 75db's i have to set my 2 fronts to -9db and my center to -7db. 85db's is +1 on the 2 fronts and +2 on the center. Which way should i set it ? Or should i just wait until i can get the Avia disc?
Im working with a Denon 3801, 2 Paradigm Monitor 3's, a Paradigm CC-370 center, and 2 panasonic AFC280 satellites.
This is my first time doing this so i;m pretty clueless :) Any advice would be great :)

Henry Carmona

Screenwriter
Real Name
Henry Carmona
hi Chriss, and welcome.
Im sorry no ones chimed in to help, actually im quit surprised.
i dont have an SPL meter, so i cant help, but i wanted to bump this thread up in hopes of getting somones attention.

Lewis Besze

Senior HTF Member
Yes I had the same problem.

I think on some of the 3801's the test tones are miss calibrated.

Use a test disc even if you use one of the THX optimode,you can find on various DVDs, you're gonna be closer to the true spl.

Chriss M

Second Unit
yup this thread fell pretty quickly :) thanks for the the replies though, i'm going to try to pick up the Avia disc today. I'm still curious about the internal test tones though. Is it normal that they are that far off?

Bryan Acevedo

Second Unit
I figured someone else would post, but I guess not, so I will answer.