Denon 2805 to auto eq or not

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Mike_J_Potter, Jul 5, 2005.

  1. Mike_J_Potter

    Mike_J_Potter Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just upgraded from a old Harmon kardon AVR125 to a denon 2805. I was wondering is the Auot EQ worth it or should I calibrate it with my Meter and Avia? The speakers are Infinity Entra .5 sats (front and rear) a entra center, and a SVS pb10-ISD. If I do auto eq I am planning to check the sub calibration anyways to make sure its not too hot. Once I get the entertainment center put back together, I will play around with it and see what it is like, but your experiences would be helpful.
     
  2. Steve Schaffer

    Steve Schaffer Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 1999
    Messages:
    3,756
    Likes Received:
    1
    Go ahead and do the auto-eq, well worth it in my experience. If you don't like it you can turn it off.
     
  3. Mike_J_Potter

    Mike_J_Potter Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried the auto eq today and kept on getting an error. I am assuming it is since I am running the system in 5.1 with the other 2 speakers set to the zone 2 to make it test in 5.1. I still get an error.
     
  4. Mort Corey

    Mort Corey Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    0
    What kind of error were you getting? I run 5.1 on my 3805 and the auto EQ does try to access the missing channels but it doesn't stop the EQ function.

    Mort
     
  5. Mike_J_Potter

    Mike_J_Potter Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got it! Turns out I forgot to switch the input on the receiver to the mic and not aux. doh! Now to wait for the AC to turn off so I can get a accurate measurement.
     

Share This Page