What's new

Denon 2802 vs. 3802 (1 Viewer)

Jerry C

Grip
I'm looking to upgrade my receiver by replacing my 3-year old Sony (DE915) with a new receiver capable of DD/DTS 6.1 discrete and Dolby ProLogic II. I've pretty well narrowed my choice to one of the new Denon models--either the 2802 or 3802. My question is this: what are the major differences between these two models? Is the difference in price for the 3802 worth it for my situation? My home theater setup includes a Tosh TW40X81, Tosh 5109 progressive DVD player, and, at this point, low-end speakers--the Infinity Minuette set including center, surrounds and subwoofer.
What's the advice from the knowledgeable people on the forum? Is the 2802 good enough, or should I shell out the extra bucks for the 3802? Any help appreciated.

JohnW

Stunt Coordinator
Jerry, I'm no expert, but I have been looking at these same two models. Here are the major differences between 2802 and 3802:
  • Power: 90 x 6 vs. 110 x 7
  • Surround back channels: single vs. two
  • Speaker switching: Front A/B speaker switching vs. surround A/B switching
  • DSP: 24-bit vs. SHARC 32-bit
  • Remote: GLO-KEY vs. LCD
  • Weight: 25.4 lb. vs. 36.4 lbs. (does that extra 11 lb. say something? :))
  • Cost: 799 vs. 1199 list, or ~600 vs. ~800 online
2802 will have no problems driving your Infinity Minuette speakers. If you have no plan to use (or upgrade to) two back surround speakers, or do not care about dipole surround, 2802 probably will suffice. Just my 2 cents.

Bryan Acevedo

Second Unit
OK - I'll chime in here. I have the 3802, and sometimes wondered what the differences were, too. From what I can tell from the Denon website, here is what I see as being IMPORTANT differences.
The Power is not much different when looking at the numbers - 90 vs 110. But the power supply in the 3802 is bigger, and will be able to hit closer to 110 X 5 (not 7 - I don't use ES or EX anyway) than the 2802 will be able to hit 90 X 5. At least that is my opinion.